OIMs (Offline IMs): The Next Escargot Undertaking

Hello guys! It’s been a long time since I’ve had an Escargot suggestion relating to MSN, with the last one being the first Escargot suggestion, implementing real Microsoft account usability (for those wondering if that’s still possible, it is still being considered, but @valtron needs more people who can undertake more complex disassembly and debugging, which will take some time), and the second one being a replacement MSN webcam server, which I still need to see if it’s still necessary to put out.

Anyways, I have figured out that OIMs (Offline IMs) are something Escargot can implement, after reading some documentation on it. Initially, I had thought that OIMs were possible already, considering my limited knowledge of TCP/IP, which I am still learning slowly almost by the day. But now that I’ve come to my senses, I decided to pitch in.

I have already addressed the innards of the OIM services on a GitLab issue I replied to, so I won’t go into too much here, but here’s a summary of what goes on with the OIM process:

Receiving OIMs

When you sign in, you will get an MSG MSNP command appended to the usual account settings MSG command that contains XML data holding your stored OIMs’ metadata.

MSN Messenger will retrieve each OIM’s GUID from their metadata XML nodes, then use each in a SOAP request to https://rsi.hotmail.com/rsi/rsi.asmx in which it will return the specified OIM in an SMTP-like format.

During an active Notification Server (NS) session, if an OIM is sent while you’re appearing offline, an MSG command is sent with a condensed version of the OIM metadata that only contains that OIM’s metadata. Then MSN will go back to the rsi.asmx service to retrieve the OIM’s actual message data.