The Epic Quest for the Uniting of Skype and WLM Messenger (GONE CODING)

I’d like to ask you guys something, is it possible to make it so that MSN connects to the Skype server instead of a private one, so that we can talk to Skype users?

I’m sure it would require way more code than just changing the server IP but, is it possible?

I have zero experience in this, but I think it is not about the server. There are many other things that have to be modified and changed to make us have the ability to do that.

Uh…no. Please, god no. I don’t want to talk any of those normies from Skype, nor discord. I would recommend to talk to people from the Escargot MSN servers ONLY!!! that, and I don’t like skype and discord :T

@Old_Bill Yeah, I’m sure it would require reverse engineering and additional code. I wish I knew how the devs managed to “hack” the MSN clients so that I could give it a shot.

@thehoovylord Nobody would force you to add “normies” if this happened

Until recently it was possible to make Windows Live Messenger connect to the same servers that Skype now uses for instant messaging, although I believe that’s no longer the case. Until it became impossible to connect, it was as simple as bypassing the version check that Messenger performs when it connects. It was even possible without hacking anything, if you logged in with Windows Live Mail first, for some reason Windows Live Messenger would ignore the version check.

However, now that’s no longer possible, I suspect it would require much more work, it could require some sort of protocol bridge or something. I’m totally guessing, I don’t know how Skype currently connects, but it’s almost certainly more than changing the servers that Messenger attempts to connect to. Theoretically it’s almost certain to be possible, but whether the amount of work would be justified is another matter.