A warning against the "Wubuntu" operating system

You may have been hearing about a Linux distrobution that’s been talked about recently known as “Wubuntu” (Shortened from Windows Ubuntu) As I know of some “Download first, ask questions later” people on this forum, I wanted to make this post to warn you against installing it.

Of course, i’m no lawyer or cybersecurity expert. Everything said here is collated off of research. If i’m wrong, let me know peacefully.

The Origins

Let’s start about the origins. Wubuntu is derived (Or is a rebranding of) LinuxFX. For the people who don’t know, LFX was a reskin of KDE that was designed to imitate Windows as closely as possible. Remember my Windows install I themed to look like macOS? Kinda like that. An OS pulling a ditto to look like the other. Unfortunately it doesn’t stop from the visuals. LinuxFX sold licenses for a professional edition of the operating system (Yep, literally paywalling linux). Here is where the LinuxFX “Company” has their horrible security practices begin to slip through the cracks.

The Database

All the “licenses” were stored on a database that was very easy to crack. This resulted in a ton of user information getting leaked, it included IP addresses. One “Kernal” reported this discovery here.

Once the news started getting around, LinuxFX decided to “increase” their security…
…by simply relocating the database to a different URL. Of course it got cracked yet again. Here’s Kernal’s post about it.

The Immaturity

The LinuxFX team still had a use for the old URL, however… The database would get replaced by a plaintext. This text would contain lines such as “Kernalisdumb” and “Kernalislammer” (Yes it is an incorrect spelling)
…These are some bad-ass insults, am I right?

LinuxFX may be compromised.

Later, this text file would again be replaced. The text file would now read “Linux896_hacked”.

What was in the database?

According to Kernal: